Emerging Merce

 

After involvements with Dore Hoyer and Josephine Baker, this third dance project with young people from Düsseldorf is all about a further artistic vision of dance history. Together they are taking a closer look at Merce Cunningham, who died in 2009 at the age of 90. In the mid-20th century, in close co-operation with John Cage and Robert Rauschenberg, he founded his own technique and a company in New York, and developed new possibilities for choreography by taking artistic decisions based on the principle of chance. In Emerging Merce, young people ask questions about content, form, chance, meaning, freedom and borders and develop their own positions and creative answers. So in the middle of the piece, the four young women leave the stage and swap roles with the artistic team. One of the young women for the team choreographed scene takes place now, which from the costume design to the performance attitude is based on their ideas, conflicts and convictions.

 

Concept and choreography: Gudrun Lange

Performance: Carina Borgards, Wanda Fassbender, Lara Sadlo, Moira Skupin

Music: Oliver Bedorf

Dramaturgy: Verena Billinger

Artistic assistence: Judit Abegg

Lighting design: Kirstin Brune

 

Change of roles

Choreography: Carina Borgards, Wanda Fassbender, Lara Sadlo, Moira Skupin

Performance: Judit Abegg, Oliver Bedorf, Verena Billinger, Gudrun Lange

 

Produced by Forum Freies Theater Düsseldorf

Was realized with the help of: „Take-off Junger Tanz“, sponsored by Landeshauptstadt Düsseldorf and Ministerpräsident des Landes NRW. „Take-off Junger Tanz” is a cooperation by cultural, educational and social institutions in Düsseldorf under the direction of tanzhaus nrw.

 

Premiere: January 28th 2012, Black Box, Forum Freies Theater Düsseldorf

 

„Chance as a compositional principle is a common theme throughout the exciting performance, which lasts approximately one hour. Carina Borgards, Wanda Fassbender, Lara Sadlo und Moira Skupin are present and intense.“

 

Veronika Ortmayr in Rheinische Post, 31.01.2012

Emerging Merce

 

Nach Auseinandersetzungen mit Dore Hoyer und Josephine Baker geht es in diesem dritten Tanzprojekt mit Düsseldorfer Jugendlichen um eine weitere künstlerische Position der Tanzgeschichte. Gemeinsam nähert man sich Merce Cunningham an, der 2009 im Alter von 90 Jahren verstorben ist. Mitte des 20. Jahrhunderts begründete er – in enger Zusammenarbeit mit John Cage und Robert Rauschenberg - eine eigene Technik und eine Kompagnie in New York und eröffnete der Choreografie neue Freiräume, indem er mit dem Zufallsprinzip künstlerische Entscheidungen traf. In Emerging Merce stellen Jugendliche Fragen nach Inhalt, Form, Zufall, Bedeutung, Freiheit und Grenzen und entwickeln eigene Positionen und kreative Antworten. So verlassen die vier jungen Frauen in der Mitte des Stückes die Bühne und tauschen mit dem künstlerischen Team die Rollen. Zu sehen ist dann eine von den jungen Frauen für das Team choreografierte Szene, die vom Kostümentwurf bis hin zu den Haltungen auf deren Ideen, Auseinandersetzungen und Überzeugungen basiert.

 

Konzept und Choreografie: Gudrun Lange

Performance: Carina Borgards, Wanda Fassbender, Lara Sadlo, Moira Skupin

Musik: Oliver Bedorf

Dramaturgie: Verena Billinger

Künstlerische Mitarbeit: Judit Abegg

Lichtdesign: Kirstin Brune

 

Rollentausch

Choreografie: Carina Borgards, Wanda Fassbender, Lara Sadlo, Moira Skupin

Performance: Judit Abegg, Oliver Bedorf, Verena Billinger, Gudrun Lange

 

Produktion: Forum Freies Theater Düsseldorf

Gefördert durch „Take-off: Junger Tanz“

„Take-off: Junger Tanz“ wird gefördert durch das Kulturamt der Landeshauptstadt Düsseldorf sowie das Ministerium für Familie, Kinder, Jugend, Kultur und Sport des Landes NRW. „Take-off: Junger Tanz“ ist eine Kooperation Düsseldorfer Kultur-, Bildungs- und Sozialeinrich-tungen unter der Gesamtleitung des tanzhaus nrw.

 

Premiere: 28.01.2012, Forum Freies Theater Düsseldorf, Black Box

 

„Der Zufall als kompositorisches Prinzip zieht sich als roter Faden durch die etwa einstündige spannungsreiche Performance. Carina Borgards, Wanda Fassbender, Lara Sadlo und Moira Skupin sind präsent und intensiv.“

 

Veronika Ortmayr in Rheinische Post, 31.01.2012