Josephine Superstar

 

In the 1920s, Josephine Baker was the first female superstar in pop culture in Europe. As a jungle animal, Charleston queen and sun queen, she created her own legend and played with clichés of ethnicity and gender. How do girls today relate to this form of self representation? How does a star arouse the enthusiasm of an audience? What happens before and after the big performance? With eight young women the phenomenon of superstar, yesterday and today, is illuminated and examined through dance. And it is remarkable: there is no serious difference in the production. “Smacking bottoms” and “wiggling hips” already seem to be registered in the young female bodies. So the young performers imitate the choreographic material of Josephine Baker from the 1920s, change it in small steps and create their own dance based upon it.

 

Concept and choreography: Gudrun Lange

Performance: Anna A. Acar, Christina Bohmann, Carina Borgards, Mona Commodore, Judith Mattelé, Victrice Moore, Inemarieke Raettig, Lara Sadlo

Music: Oliver Bedorf

Dramaturgy: Stefanie Fiedler

Artistic assistence: Judit Abegg

 

Produced by Forum Freies Theater Düsseldorf

Was realized with the help of: „Take-off Junger Tanz“, sponsored by Landeshauptstadt Düsseldorf and Ministerpräsident des Landes NRW. „Take-off Junger Tanz” is a cooperation by cultural, educational and social institutions in Düsseldorf under the direction of tanzhaus nrw.

 

„But beyond involvement with the topic, there is the pure desire to dance and the girls convey this – eight different characters reveal different temperaments – and come together again and again for strong ensemble scenes, generously applauded by the well-disposed audience.”

 

Thomas Hag in Neue Rhein Zeitung, 14.01.2011

Josephine Superstar

 

Josephine Baker war in den 1920er Jahren der erste weibliche Superstar der Popkultur in Europa. Als Dschungeltier, Charleston-Queen und Sonnenkönigin machte sie sich selbst zur Legende, spielte mit Klischees von Ethnizität und Geschlecht. Wie setzen sich Mädchen von heute mit dieser Form der Selbst-Inszenierung in Beziehung? Wie erregt ein Star die Begeisterung des Publikums? Was passiert vor und nach dem großen Auftritt? Mit acht jungen Frauen wird das Phänomen Superstar beleuchtet und betanzt – gestern und heute. Und es fällt auf: Die Inszenierung unterscheidet sich nicht sehr gravierend. Das „Auf den Po klatschen“ und „Mit den Hüften wackeln“ scheint in die jungen weiblichen Körper schon eingeschrieben zu sein. So tanzen die jugendlichen Darstellerinnen das choreografische Material von Josephine Baker aus den 1920er Jahren nach, verändern es in kleinen Schritten und kreieren davon ausgehend ihren eigenen Tanz.

 

Konzept und Choreografie: Gudrun Lange

Performance: Anna A. Acar, Christina Bohmann, Carina Borgards, Mona Commodore, Judith Mattelé, Victrice Moore, Inemarieke Raettig, Lara Sadlo

Musik: Oliver Bedorf

Dramaturgie: Stefanie Fiedler

Künstlerische Mitarbeit: Judit Abegg

 

Produktion: Forum Freies Theater Düsseldorf

Gefördert durch „Take-off: Junger Tanz“

„Take-off: Junger Tanz“ wird gefördert durch das Kulturamt der Landeshauptstadt Düsseldorf sowie das Ministerium für Familie, Kinder, Jugend, Kultur und Sport des Landes NRW. „Take-off: Junger Tanz“ ist eine Kooperation Düsseldorfer Kultur-, Bildungs- und Sozialeinrich-tungen unter der Gesamtleitung des tanzhaus nrw.

 

„Über der Auseinandersetzung mit dem Thema steht jedoch die pure Lust am Tanzen, und die vermitteln die Mädchen – acht verschiedene Typen offenbaren verschiedene Temperamente – und finden sich immer wieder zu starken Ensembleszenen zusammen, für die das wohlgesonnene Publikum reichlich Szenenapplaus spendet.“

 

Thomas Hag in Neue Rhein Zeitung, 14.01.2011